Publications: Working papers

Publications: Working papers 2019

Also available in RePEc archives
RePEc is a decentralized database and world's largest collection of economics working papers, journal articles and software components

2019-1 "Fostering, Child Welfare, and Ethnic Cultural Values"

Eliane El Badaoui, Lucia Mangiavacchi

Show Download working paper (on EconPapers)

Abstract
This article examines the interdependence of the fostering status of children, their school attendance and their labour supply in host families in Niger. We appreciate the ethnic cultural heritage of fostering, a phenomenon assumed to be rooted in the long run and transmitted along generations. The focus is on the effects of fostering on children's outcomes. We specify a simultaneous equations model with three outcomes for children (school attendance, hours of market work and hours of domestic work) and a treatment variable (fostering). The results show that foster children are more likely to attend school and to have longer hours of domestic work than biological children. Importantly, we find evidence of a schooling fostering for boys and a domestic fostering for girls. All in all, ethnic inherited values and behaviours are found to have an important role in perpetuating fostering institution and on children's welfare.
Classification-JEL
J13; J22; O12; C34
Mot(s) clé(s)
Child fostering; Culture; Child labour; Domestic work; Schooling; Niger
File

2019-2 "Evaluating the Macroeconomic Effects of the ECB's Unconventional Monetary Policies"

Sarah Mouabbi, Jean-Guillaume Sahuc

Show Download working paper (on EconPapers)

Abstract
We quantify the macroeconomic effects of the European Central Bank’s unconventional monetary policies using a DSGE model which includes a set of shadow interest rates. Extracted from the yield curve, these shadow rates provide unconstrained measures of the overall stance of monetary policy. Counterfactual analyses show that, without unconventional measures, the euro area would have suffered (i) a substantial loss of output since the Great Recession and (ii) a period of deflation from mid-2015 to early 2017. Specifically, year-on-year inflation and GDP growth would have been on average about 0.61% and 1.09% below their actual levels over the period 2014Q1-2017Q2, respectively.
Classification-JEL
E32, E44, E52.
Mot(s) clé(s)
Unconventional monetary policy, shadow policy rate, DSGE model, euro area.
File

2019-3 "Mitigation strategies under the threat of solar radiation management"

Fabien Prieur, Martin Quaas, Ingmar Schumacher

Show Download working paper (on EconPapers)

Abstract
The option to tackle climate change by means of Solar Radiation Management (SRM) is mostly thought to reduce efforts of mitigating greenhouse gas emissions. Here we hypothesize that (i) a unilateral threat to employ SRM can induce players to commit to strategies with increased mitigation effort compared to what would be observed at the Nash equilibrium in emission strategies only and (ii) there exists a way to share the burden imposed by commitment to avoid SRM that Pareto dominates an alternative that would involve too high current emission levels then followed by future SRM deployment. To study these hypotheses we develop a two-region, two-stage, two-period game where regions choose mitigation and SRM. While SRM targets regional climate preferences, in line with current scientific evidence its deployment leads to uncertain damages on the other region. We first develop the general theory and then study a more specific linear-quadratic application. Finally we calibrate the model to real-world data and find that hypothesis (ii) holds for plausible values.
Classification-JEL
C72, Q54
Mot(s) clé(s)
climate change, solar radiation management, heterogeneous damages, strategic interaction, commitment
File

2019-4 "On the impact of capital and liquidity ratios on financial stability"

Pierre Durand

Show Download working paper (on EconPapers)

Abstract
In response to the 2007-2008 global financial crisis, the G20 mandated the Basel Committee to put in place prudential regulations capable of ensuring financial stability: the Basel III agreements. This paper tackles this issue by investigating the impact of capital and liquidity ratios on financial stability for a sample of 1600 banks from 23 countries over the 2005-2016 period. We pay particular attention to the nonlinear character of this potential effect through the estimation of a polynomial model with interaction terms and a panel smooth transition regression. Distinguishing between different types of banks depending on their level of systemicity, we find evidence of a nonlinear effect of prudential ratios on financial stability: a low level of capital improves financial stability, but its effect tends to diminish for higher values. Finally, we show that bank profitability is a significant determinant of financial stability.
Classification-JEL
C33, G21, G38
Mot(s) clé(s)
Basel III ratios ; financial stability ; interaction effects ; Panel Smooth Transition Regression
File

2019-5 "Mind the Conversion Risk: a Theoretical Assessment of Contingent Convertible Bonds"

Gaëtan Le Quang

Show Download working paper (on EconPapers)

Abstract
We develop a theoretical model to assess the merits of principal-write down contingent convertible (CoCo) bonds. The conversion risk is the key feature of CoCo bonds. Because of this conversion risk, CoCo bonds are hard to price and an equilibrium price does not necessarily exist. In our model, for such a price to exist, the bank needs to hold a minimum amount of equity and/or the expected return associated with its asset portfolio needs to be large enough. When an equilibrium price exists, it is a decreasing function in the amount of equity held by the bank. Well-capitalized banks can thus issue CoCo bonds at a lower price than least-capitalized banks. This is the reason why CoCo bonds are to be thought of more as a complement to equity than as a substitute. In addition, because of the conversion risk, self-fulfilling panics may occur in the CoCo bonds' market. We indeed define a game between CoCo bonds' holders and the Central Bank that allows us to exhibit situations where a panic occurs in the CoCo bonds' market. Using the global game technique, we show that the probability of crisis can be expressed as a function of the return associated with the asset portfolio of the bank. The probability of crisis is shown to be sensitive to the precision of the information available to CoCo bonds' holders. Taken together, our results call for cautiousness when assessing the relevance of regulatory requirements in CoCo bonds, especially concerning their systemic impact.
Classification-JEL
G13; G21; G28; G32; G33
Mot(s) clé(s)
convertible contingent bonds; conversion risk; equity; banks; systemic risk
File

2019-6 "Heterogeneity within the euro area: New insights into an old story"

Virginie Coudert, Cécile Couharde, Carl Grekou, Valérie Mignon

Show Download working paper (on EconPapers)

Abstract
We assess cross-country heterogeneity within the eurozone and its evolution over time by measuring the distances between the equilibrium exchange rates’ paths of member countries. These equilibrium paths are derived from the minimization of currency misalignments, by matching real exchange rates with their economic fundamentals. Using cluster and factor analyses, we identify two distinct groups of countries in the run-up to the European Monetary Union (EMU), Greece being clearly an outlier at that time. Comparing the results with more recent periods, we find evidence of rising dissimilarities between these two sets of countries, as well as within the groups themselves. Overall, our findings illustrate the building-up of macroeconomic imbalances within the eurozone before the 2008 crisis and the fragmentation between its member countries that followed.
Classification-JEL
F33, F45, E5, C38
Mot(s) clé(s)
Euro area; Equilibrium exchange rates; Cluster analysis; Factor analysis; Macroeconomic imbalances
File

2019-7 "Les déterminants locaux de la participation numérique au Grand débat national : une analyse économétrique"

Hamza Bennani, Pauline Gandré, Benjamin Monnery

Show Download working paper (on EconPapers)

Abstract
This paper analyses the local determinants of the electronic participation to the "Grand débat". First, we highlight the spatial heterogeneity of the participants using their zip code. Second, we use an econometric approach to assess the local determinants of the general participation and the participation on each of the four topics of the "Grand débat". The results show that the median standard of living and the education level are the main determinants of the general participation, whereas some specific variables explain the participation of each of the four topics.
Classification-JEL
C21, D72
Mot(s) clé(s)
Grand débat, electronic participation, local determinants
File

2019-8 "Equity Risk Premium and Time Horizon: what do the French secular data say ?"

David Le Bris, Georges Prat

Show Download working paper (on EconPapers)

Abstract
We consider a representative investor whose wealth is shared between a replica of the equity market portfolio and the riskless asset, and who maximizes the expected utility of their future wealth. For a given time-horizon, the solution of this program equalizes the required risk premium to the product of price of risk by the expected variance of stock returns. As a tentative to capture exogenous disturbing effects, the term spread of interest rates and US equity risk premia complement this relationship. Two traditional horizons are considered: the one-period-ahead horizon characterizing the ‘short-term’ investor and the infinite-time horizon characterizing the ‘long-term’ investor. For each horizon, expected returns are represented by mixing the three traditional adaptive, extrapolative and regressive process, expected variance is represented by a GARCH process, while the unobservable time-varying price of risk is estimated according to the Kalman filter methodology. Based on annual French data established by Le Bris and Hautcoeur (2010), large disparities in the dynamics of the short- and long term observed premia are evidenced from 1872 to 2018, while, due to risky arbitrage and transaction costs, the observed premia appeared to gradually converge towards their required values. Overall, although the French market had experienced very strong historical shocks, our model provides both measurements and explanations of French short- and long-term risk premia and so shed some additional light on the existence of a time-varying term structure of equity risk premia. Despite differences, results on the French market are rather in accordance with those by Prat (2013) based on US secular data.
Classification-JEL
D81; D84; E44; G11; G12
Mot(s) clé(s)
equity risk premium, time horizon, France
File
load Please wait ...

Publications: Documents de travail

Publications: Documents de travail 2019

Disponible aussi dans les archives RePEc
RePEc is a decentralized database and world's largest collection of economics working papers, journal articles and software components

2019-1 "Fostering, Child Welfare, and Ethnic Cultural Values"

Eliane El Badaoui, Lucia Mangiavacchi

Voir Télécharger le document de travail (via EconPapers)

Résumé
Cet article examine les effets du confiage sur l'offre de travail et la scolarisation des enfants dans les familles d'accueil au Niger. L'accent est mis sur le rôle des valeurs et des comportements culturels hérités du groupe ethnique dans la perpétuation du confiage. Nous spécifions un modèle d'équations simultanées avec trois variables endogènes pour les enfants (la fréquentation scolaire, les heures de travail sur le marché et les heures de travail domestique) et une variable de traitement (le confiage). Les résultats montrent que les enfants confiés sont susceptibles de fréquenter plus l'école et d'avoir de plus longues heures de travail domestique que les enfants biologiques. L’analyse par genre révèle que le confiage se fait plutôt dans l’objectif d'une scolarisation pour les garçons et d’une plus grande participation aux tâches domestiques pour les filles. Nous fournissons des effets hétérogènes pour différents échantillons et nous testons la robustesse des résultats à différentes spécifications empiriques. Dans l'ensemble, les valeurs et les comportements ethniques hérités jouent un rôle important dans l'analyse du phénomène de confiage.
Classification-JEL
J13; J22; O12; C34
Mot(s) clé(s)
Confiage; Culture; Travail des enfants; Travail domestique; Scolarisation; Niger
Fichier

2019-2 "Evaluating the Macroeconomic Effects of the ECB's Unconventional Monetary Policies"

Sarah Mouabbi, Jean-Guillaume Sahuc

Voir Télécharger le document de travail (via EconPapers)

Résumé
Nous quantifions les effets macroéconomiques des politiques monétaires non conventionnelles de la Banque Centrale Européenne, à l'aide d'un modèle DSGE comprenant un ensemble de taux d’intérêt virtuels (shadow rate). Extraits de la courbe des taux, ces taux virtuels fournissent des mesures non contraintes de l’orientation générale de la politique monétaire. Nos analyses contrefactuelles montrent que, sans ces mesures non conventionnelles, la zone euro aurait subi (i) une
perte de production substantielle depuis la Grande Récession et (ii) une période de déflation allant de la mi-2015 au début 2017. Le glissement annuel de l’inflation aurait été en moyenne 0,61% en dessous de son niveau observé et celui de la croissance du PIB plus bas de 1,09%, au cours de la période 2014T1-2017T2.
Classification-JEL
E32, E44, E52.
Mot(s) clé(s)
Politique monétaire non conventionnelle, taux d'intérêt virtuel, modèle DSGE, zone euro.
Fichier

2019-3 "Mitigation strategies under the threat of solar radiation management"

Fabien Prieur, Martin Quaas, Ingmar Schumacher

Voir Télécharger le document de travail (via EconPapers)

Résumé
La possibilité de lutter contre le changement climatique au moyen de la gestion du rayonnement solaire (SRM) est censée réduire les efforts d’atténuation des émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Ici, nous émettons l'hypothèse que (i) une menace unilatérale d'utilisation de SRM peut amener les pays à s'engager dans des stratégies avec un effort d'atténuation accru par rapport à ce qui serait observé à l'équilibre de Nash dans les stratégies d'émission uniquement et (ii) il existe un moyen de partager le fardeau imposée par l'engagement d'éviter le SRM qui domine au sens de Pareto une solution qui impliquerait des niveaux d'émission actuels trop élevés, suivis du déploiement futur de SRM. Pour étudier ces hypothèses, nous développons un jeu à deux régions, deux étapes et deux périodes dans lequel les régions choisissent l'atténuation et le SRM. Alors que le SRM cible les préférences climatiques régionales, conformément aux preuves scientifiques actuelles, son déploiement entraîne des dommages incertains sur l’autre région. Nous développons d'abord la théorie générale, puis étudions une application plus spécifique de type linéaire-quadratique. Enfin, nous calibrons le modèle sur des données réelles et constatons que l’hypothèse (ii) est validée pour des valeurs plausibles des paramètres du modèle.
Classification-JEL
C72, Q54
Mot(s) clé(s)
changement climatique, gestion du rayonnement solaire, dommages hétérogènes, interaction stratégique, engagement
Fichier

2019-4 "On the impact of capital and liquidity ratios on financial stability"

Pierre Durand

Voir Télécharger le document de travail (via EconPapers)

Résumé
En réponse à la crise financière globale de 2007-2008, le G20 a mandaté le Comité de Bâle pour mettre en place une réglementation prudentielle capable d'assurer la stabilité du système financier : les accords de Bâle III. Cette étude s'intéresse à cette question au travers de l'analyse de l'impact des ratios de capital et de liquidité sur la stabilité financière pour un échantillon de 1600 banques et 23 pays sur la période 2005-2016. Nous focalisons notre attention sur le caractère non-linéaire de ces potentiels effets en ayant recours à une estimation d'un modèle polynomial avec termes d'interaction, et d'un modèle Panel Smooth Transition Regression. En différenciant les groupes de banques en fonction de leur niveau de systémicité, nous mettons en évidence l'existence de non-linéarité dans l'effet des ratios sur la stabilité financière : les bas niveaux de capital améliorent la stabilité financière, mais cet effets tends à s'amoindrir pour des valeurs plus élevées. Finalement, nous montrons que la profitabilité des banques est un déterminant significatif de la stabilité financière.
Classification-JEL
C33, G21, G38
Mot(s) clé(s)
Ratios de Bâle III, stabilité financière, effets d'interaction, Panel Smooth Transition Regression
Fichier

2019-5 "Mind the Conversion Risk: a Theoretical Assessment of Contingent Convertible Bonds"

Gaëtan Le Quang

Voir Télécharger le document de travail (via EconPapers)

Résumé
Nous développons un modèle théorique dans le but d'évaluer le risque associé aux obligations contingentes convertibles (CoCo). Le risque de conversion est le principal risque associé à ces produits financiers et rend leur évaluation périlleuse. Nous montrons, en particulier, qu'il n'est possible de trouver un prix d'équilibre pour les obligations CoCo que lorsque la banque est suffisamment capitalisée et/ou que son actif paye un rendement espéré suffisamment élevé. En outre, lorsqu'un tel prix d'équilibre existe, nous montrons qu'il s'agit d'une fonction décroissante du niveau de capitalisation de la banque. En d'autres termes, les banques les mieux capitalisées sont en mesure d'émettre des obligations CoCo à un coût moindre que les banques moins bien capitalisées. Les obligations CoCo sont donc à envisager plus comme des compléments que comme des substituts aux actions ordinaires. A cause du risque de conversion, des paniques auto-réalisatrices peuvent se produire sur le marché des obligations CoCo. Nous modélisons ainsi un jeu entre les investisseurs en obligations CoCo et la Banque Centrale dont la résolution permet de mettre en évidence les situations où une panique se produit effectivement. En recourant à la technique des jeux globaux, nous montrons, en particulier, que la probabilité qu'une crise se produise peut être exprimée comme une fonction du rendement espéré associé à l'actif de la banque. La probabilité de crise est, en outre, sensible à l'information dont disposent les acheteurs d'obligations CoCo.
Classification-JEL
G13; G21; G28; G32; G33
Mot(s) clé(s)
obligations contingentes convertibles; risque de conversion; actions ordinaires; banques; risque systémique
Fichier

2019-6 "Heterogeneity within the euro area: New insights into an old story"

Virginie Coudert, Cécile Couharde, Carl Grekou, Valérie Mignon

Voir Télécharger le document de travail (via EconPapers)

Résumé
Cet article évalue l'hétérogénéité des pays au sein de la zone euro et son évolution au cours du temps en mesurant les écarts entre les trajectoires des taux de change d'équilibre des pays membres. Ces trajectoires d'équilibre découlent de la minimisation des mésalignements de change, obtenus en faisant correspondre les taux de change réels à leurs fondamentaux économiques. À l’aide d’analyses par clusters et factorielle, nous identifions deux groupes de pays distincts dans la période pré-Union économique et monétaire européenne (UEM), la Grèce étant clairement isolée des autres pays à cette époque. En comparant les résultats à ceux obtenus sur des périodes plus récentes, nous constatons des disparités croissantes entre ces deux groupes de pays, ainsi qu’au sein des groupes eux-mêmes. Globalement, nos conclusions illustrent l’émergence de déséquilibres macroéconomiques au sein de la zone euro avant la crise de 2008 et la fragmentation qui a suivi entre ses pays membres.
Classification-JEL
F33, F45, E5, C38
Mot(s) clé(s)
zone euro ; taux de change d’équilibre ; analyse par clusters ; analyse factorielle ; déséquilibres macroéconomiques
Fichier

2019-7 "Les déterminants locaux de la participation numérique au Grand débat national : une analyse économétrique"

Hamza Bennani, Pauline Gandré, Benjamin Monnery

Voir Télécharger le document de travail (via EconPapers)

Résumé
Cet article s'intéresse aux déterminants locaux de la participation numérique au Grand débat. Dans un premier temps, nous mettons en évidence l'hétérogénéité spatiale des contributeurs en exploitant le code postal déclaré par les participants. Dans un second temps, nous nous appuyons sur une approche économétrique pour analyser les déterminants locaux de la participation globale et de la participation à chacun des quatre thèmes du Grand débat. Nos résultats démontrent que le niveau de vie médian et le taux de diplômés sont les principaux déterminants départementaux de la participation globale au Grand débat en ligne, tandis que des variables spécifiques expliquent l'intérêt particulier porté à chacun des quatre thèmes.
Classification-JEL
C21, D72
Mot(s) clé(s)
Grand débat, participation numérique, déterminants locaux
Fichier

2019-8 "Equity Risk Premium and Time Horizon: what do the French secular data say ?"

David Le Bris, Georges Prat

Voir Télécharger le document de travail (via EconPapers)

Résumé
On considère un agent représentatif dont la richesse est répartie entre un portefeuille diversifié d’actions et l’actif sans risque, et qui maximise l’espérance d’utilité de sa richesse future. Pour un horizon d’investissement donné, la résolution de ce programme permet de déduire que la prime de risque requise pour détenir des actions est égale au produit du prix du risque par la variance anticipée des rentabilités des actions. Traduisant des effets exogènes perturbateurs, le term spread de taux d’intérêt et la prime de risque sur le marché américain des actions complètent cette relation. Deux horizons traditionnels sont considérés : l’horizon d’une période (un an) caractérisant l’investisseur à court terme et l’horizon infini caractérisant l’investisseur à long terme. Pour chaque horizon, les rentabilités anticipées des actions sont représentées par un mixage des trois processus traditionnels adaptatif, extrapolatif et régressif, la variance anticipée est estimée par des processus GARCH, tandis que les valeurs inobservables du prix du risque sont estimées avec la méthode du filtre de Kalman. Sur la base des données établies par Le Bris et Hautcoeur (2010), d’importantes disparités entre les primes de risque de court et de long terme sont mises en évidence sur la période 1872 à 2018, tandis que, en raison des coûts de transaction et des risques d’arbitrage, les primes observées s’ajustent progressivement sur les primes requises estimées. Dans l’ensemble, malgré l’histoire chaotique de la France, notre modèle mesure et explique simultanément les primes de risque des actions sur le marché français et fournit ainsi un nouvel éclairage sur la variabilité de la structure par terme de ces primes. Malgré des différences, nos résultats sur le marché Français sont en accord avec ceux obtenus par Prat (2013) en utilisant les données séculaires américaines.
Classification-JEL
D81; D84; E44; G11; G12
Mot(s) clé(s)
prime de risque des actions, horizon d'investissement, France
Fichier

2019-9 "Les banques coopératives ont-elles été plus performantes pendant les crises récentes ?"

Ouafa Ouyahia

Voir Télécharger le document de travail (via EconPapers)

Résumé
Cet article établit une comparaison entre la rentabilité des banques coopératives européennes et celle des banques non coopératives sur la période 2005-2014 en utilisant la méthode des moments généralisés (SYS-GMM). Pour ce faire, nous considérons les mesures traditionnelles de la performance des banques, à savoir, la rentabilité de l’actif (ROA), la rentabilité des fonds propres (ROE), et la marge d’intérêt nette (NIM). Même si ces mesures ne sont pas adaptées aux banques coopératives, elles restent les plus utilisées dans la littérature. Nos résultats montrent que les banques coopératives ne sont pas plus ou moins performantes que le reste des banques lorsque la totalité de la période est considérée. Cependant, la crise des dettes souveraines en Europe a eu un effet relativement plus important sur la performance des banques coopératives dans leur ensemble, à l’inverse de la crise de 2008. Quant aux banques coopératives systémiques, elles semblent relativement plus performantes pendant la crise des dettes souveraines. Cependant, aucune distinction n’est faite entre les banques coopératives systémiques et les autres banques pendant la crise financière de 2008.
Classification-JEL
G21 ; P13
Mot(s) clé(s)
Performance, banques coopératives, crise financière de 2008, crise des dettes souveraines en Europe
Fichier

2019-10 "Firm soundness and knowledge externalities: a comparative regional analysis"

Lara Abdel Fattah, Giuseppe Arcuri, Aziza Garsaa, Nadine Levratto

Voir Télécharger le document de travail (via EconPapers)

Résumé
Cet article étudie le rôle du contexte régional en ce qui concerne les effets du capital humain et des externalités de connaissance sur la solidité financière des PME. Notre stratégie empirique est basée sur le modèle multiniveau pour les données de panel. Ce modèle, qui permet de mieux traiter les données relatives à différents niveaux d’agrégation (variables d’entreprise et variables régionales), s’applique à 22 079 entreprises appartenant au secteur industriel, observées sur la période 2010-2015 et situées dans quatre pays européens : France, Belgique, Italie et Allemagne. Nous constatons que la combinaison des caractéristiques aux niveaux individuels et régionaux (NUTS 2) explique la solidité des entreprises avec plus d’exactitude que les caractéristiques individuelles uniquement. En particulier, un niveau d'éducation plus élevé au niveau régional et les externalités de connaissance améliorent la robustesse des PME.
Classification-JEL
I25, L26, R11, C33
Mot(s) clé(s)
Firm effects, regional effects, human capital, firm robustness, multilevel longitudinal model
Fichier
load Veuillez patienter ...