Photo Emmanuel Hache

Emmanuel Hache

Directeur(trice) de recherches
  • Email
  • Research group

      Macroéconomie Internationale, Banque et Econométrie Financière

  • Theme(s)
    • Energie
    • Matières premières
    • Asie

2019-28 "Determinants of investments in solar photovoltaic: Do oil prices really matter?"

Margaux Escoffier, Emmanuel Hache, Valérie Mignon, Anthony Paris

Show Download working paper (on EconPapers)

Abstract
This paper investigates the determinants of solar photovoltaic (PV) deployment in the electricity mix for a panel of OECD and BRICS countries from 1997 to 2016 by paying particular attention to the impact of oil market conditions. Relying on a nonlinear, regime-switching specification, we show that rising oil prices stimulate PV deployment only if their growth rate is important, above 6.7%. Although we find that various other determinants matter—with the influence of some of them depending on the situation on the oil market—public policies play a crucial role. In particular, our findings show that feed-in-tariffs should be encouraged to ensure a continuous fight against climate change, whatever the dynamics followed by oil prices.
Classification-JEL
Q4; Q42; C23; C24
Mot(s) clé(s)
Solar photovoltaic; Renewables deployment; Oil prices; Panel smooth transition regression
File

2018-45 "The nexus between climate negotiations and low-carbon innovation: a geopolitics of renewable energy patents"

Clément Bonnet, Samuel Carcanague, Emmanuel Hache, Gondia Sokhna Seck, Marine Simoën

Show Download working paper (on EconPapers)

Abstract
Intellectual property is a central issue in the climate negotiations. On the one hand, it shapes and encourages innovation in low-carbon technologies. On the other hand, it reduces access to these technologies by giving patent holders market power. We analyze the interactions between climate negotiations and the acquisition of patents on renewable energy technologies. First, we recall the geopolitical nature of intellectual property and explain how it is modified by the particularities of low-carbon innovation. The second part of this article is devoted to an inventory of the production of inventions in renewable energy technologies (RETs). In particular, we focus on the relative technological advantages of countries and the value of patented inventions. Major changes are observed in the geographical distribution of low-carbon innovation during the 2000s and they foreshadow a reorganization of the geopolitical balances of innovation in renewable energies.
Classification-JEL
Q42, Q55, O31, O38
Mot(s) clé(s)
Patent data, energy transition, renewable energy technology, innovation, international relations
File

2018-50 "Renewable energy source integration into power networks, research trends and policy implications: A bibliometric and stakeholders survey analysis"

Emmanuel Hache, Angélique Palle

Show Download working paper (on EconPapers)

Abstract
This article studies the integration of variable renewable energy sources (RES) into power networks. The main goal is to confront the contents and trends of scientific literature with the eyes and projects of researchers on future topics and issues to be solved, especially in terms of modeling of electrical systems. The analysis relies on a bibliometric study of the Scopus database on the topic and on an online survey sent to the corresponding authors of the identified papers. The paper analyses the dynamics of publication, clusters of collaboration and main studied topics. It then identifies potential research leads, among which unresolved challenges regarding technical aspects, markets and financing issues and social aspects. The paper concludes on the policy implications of the mentioned results. The disparity of models and results is still a necessary evil as research is not mature enough to integrate in one model all the very complex parameters of VRE integration into power systems. Some recurring lacks though, such as the impact of emergent technologies or the development of substitute low carbon emitting technology (other than solar and wind), need to be addressed. The paper also advocates the need for a systemic vision, for both research and policy makers that goes beyond the sole power system.
Classification-JEL
Q42, Q48, Q55
Mot(s) clé(s)
Variable renewable energy, bibliometric analysis, scenario, survey, power network, policy
File
load Please wait ...

Photo Emmanuel Hache

Emmanuel Hache

Directeur(trice) de recherches
  • Email
  • Axe de recherche

      Macroéconomie Internationale, Banque et Econométrie Financière

  • Thème(s)
    • Energie
    • Matières premières
    • Asie

2019-28 "Determinants of investments in solar photovoltaic: Do oil prices really matter?"

Margaux Escoffier, Emmanuel Hache, Valérie Mignon, Anthony Paris

Voir Télécharger le document de travail (via EconPapers)

Résumé
Cet article examine les déterminants des investissements dans l’énergie solaire photovoltaïque (PV) pour divers pays de l’OCDE et des BRICS de 1997 à 2016, en accordant une attention particulière à l’impact des conditions sur le marché pétrolier. En nous appuyant sur un modèle non linéaire à changement de régime, nous montrons que la hausse des prix du pétrole ne stimule les investissements dans le photovoltaïque que si leur taux de croissance est important, supérieur à 6,7%. Bien que nous trouvions que divers autres déterminants importent — l'influence de certains d'entre eux dépendant de la situation sur le marché pétrolier — les politiques publiques jouent un rôle crucial. Nos résultats montrent notamment que les tarifs de rachat devraient être encouragés pour assurer une lutte continue contre le changement climatique, quelle que soit la dynamique suivie par les prix du pétrole.
Classification-JEL
Q4; Q42; C23; C24
Mot(s) clé(s)
Energie solaire photovoltaique; Investissements renouvelables; Prix du pétrole; Modèle de régression lisse en panel
Fichier

2018-45 "The nexus between climate negotiations and low-carbon innovation: a geopolitics of renewable energy patents"

Clément Bonnet, Samuel Carcanague, Emmanuel Hache, Gondia Sokhna Seck, Marine Simoën

Voir Télécharger le document de travail (via EconPapers)

Résumé
La propriété intellectuelle est une question centrale dans les négociations sur le changement climatique. D'une part, elle façonne et encourage l'innovation dans les technologies à faible émission de carbone. D'autre part, elle réduit l'accès à ces technologies en donnant aux titulaires de brevets un pouvoir de marché. Nous analysons les interactions entre les négociations sur le climat et l'acquisition de brevets sur les technologies des énergies renouvelables. Tout d'abord, nous rappelons la nature géopolitique de la propriété intellectuelle et expliquons comment elle est modifiée par les particularités de l'innovation bas carbone. La deuxième partie de cet article est consacrée à un inventaire de la production d'inventions dans les technologies des énergies renouvelables (TER). En particulier, nous nous concentrons sur les avantages technologiques relatifs des pays et sur la valeur des inventions brevetées. Des changements majeurs sont observés dans la répartition géographique de l'innovation faible en carbone au cours des années 2000 et ils préfigurent une réorganisation des équilibres géopolitiques de l'innovation dans les énergies renouvelables.
Classification-JEL
Q42, Q55, O31, O38
Mot(s) clé(s)
Données de brevets, transition énergétique, technologies des énergies renouvelables, innovation, relations internationales
Fichier

2018-50 "Renewable energy source integration into power networks, research trends and policy implications: A bibliometric and stakeholders survey analysis"

Emmanuel Hache, Angélique Palle

Voir Télécharger le document de travail (via EconPapers)

Résumé
L’objectif de cet article est d’étudier l'intégration des énergies renouvelables variables (ENR-V) dans les réseaux électriques et de confronter le contenu et les tendances observées dans la littérature économique avec les projets en cours notamment en termes de modélisation des systèmes électriques. L'analyse s'appuie sur une étude bibliométrique réalisée sur la base de données Scopus et sur une enquête en ligne envoyée aux auteurs correspondants des articles identifiés. L'article analyse la dynamique des publications, les principales collaborations et les principaux sujets étudiés. Il identifie les pistes de recherche potentielles, parmi lesquelles les principaux défis techniques, les questions de design des marchés, les questions de financement et les aspects sociaux. L’article s’interroge sur les implications politiques des résultats mentionnés. La disparité des modèles et des résultats demeurent un mal nécessaire, car la recherche sur le sujet n'est pas assez mûre pour intégrer, dans un seul modèle, tous les paramètres complexes de l'intégration des ENR-V dans les systèmes électriques. L’article préconise également la nécessité d'une vision systémique sur le sujet, tant pour la recherche que pour les décideurs, qui va au-delà du seul système électrique.
Classification-JEL
Q42, Q48, Q55
Mot(s) clé(s)
Energie renouvelable variable, analyse bibliométrique, scénario, enquête, réseau électrique, politique
Fichier
load Veuillez patienter ...